5-Hour Tennessee Massage Law for Reciprocity
Arbor College-School of Massage offers a monthly 5-hour Tennessee Massage Law Course specifically for individuals that received their massage education outside Tennessee and need the 5-hour Tennessee Massage Law course in order to qualify for licensure as required by All applicants for reciprocity licensure must submit proof of having successfully completed five (5) classroom hours of instruction regarding Tennessee Massage Statutes and Regulations. The course is held monthly at 6500 Papermill Drive, Suite 214, Knoxville, Tennessee 37919 on the second floor in Suite 214, Classroom A.
|Tennessee Massage Law|
|This course is designed to provide the Student Massage Therapist with information regarding the law, rules, regulations, and limitations, scope of practice, restrictions, and revisions for the practice of massage in the State of Tennessee|
Upon completion of this course, the learner will be able to:Explain how the State of Tennessee defines the practice of massage and bodywork.
1. Discuss why massage therapists in the State of Tennessee must be apprised of the laws, rules, regulations, restrictions, and obligations governing the practice
of massage in Tennessee.
2. Give reasons why a license to practice massage might be revoked, cancelled, or suspended in the State of Tennessee.
3. Discuss the legal aspects of the practice of massage in the State of Tennessee.
4. Discuss the legal aspects of opening and maintaining a massage establishment in the State of Tennessee.
5. Describe the continuing education requirements for Licensed Massage Therapists in the State of Tennessee.
6. Detail the rules regarding draping for Massage Therapists in the State of Tennessee.
7. List therapeutic techniques that are prohibited in the State of Tennessee.
8. Discuss the practice standards and inspections for massage therapists and establishments in the State of Tennessee.
9. Comprehend existing laws, rules, and regulations for the practice of Massage Therapy in the State of Tennessee and be able to identify and access resources
regarding changes and updates.
This course is included in the Clinical Massage Therapy Diploma program because Arbor College – School of Massage believes that it is imperative for each learner to understand the legal guidelines under which they will be licensed and practice. The Tennessee Board of Massage requires that all approved and authorized massage schools provide specific instruction regarding the State of Tennessee Massage Licensure Practice Act of 1995 and the General Rules and Regulations Governing License Massage Therapist and Establishments (Current Revisions).
Note: To qualify for this course your massage school must be approved by the Board of Massage in the state that you are. If you need additional hours in different subject matters, please ask about courses that can additionally be offered.